Back in the Saddle

You may (or may not) have noticed I wasn’t exactly faithful in updating my blog over the last… Okay, well, October. I would like to say I’ve been jetting around the world (I haven’t) or I’ve already completed the next book (I haven’t). But after finishing the rewrites on The Splendor Falls, I needed a bit of a brain break.

Which is not to say I’ve been idle. Just the opposite. I’ve just been busy doing stuff that isn’t active writing. I’m teaching a class next weekend and the North Texas RWA retreat, so I’ve been reading about how to apply the "Hare Brain, Tortoise Mind" philosophy to writing. I’ll probably post more about this in the future, because I was surprised how much this applied to how I think and work creatively.

The upshot, however, is that I’ve been doing stuff that’s not writing this month, so that I can refresh my subconscious. Some people call this "refilling the well." You guys who are doing NaNoWriMo (and I’m unofficially with you–more on that later) will find that after you’ve been outputting a lot, you need to set away occasionally and do something that involves INPUT rather than OUTPUT every now and then.

So here’s what I’ve been doing during my computer/internet break:

1) Sewing. Mostly this involved three(!!) Halloween costumes, but I’ve also made huge strides in a big embroidery I’ve been working on for about two years. (Picture here.)I might be finished with it, if I hadn’t discovered….

2) Mystery Case Files for the NDS. Oh my God. These hidden item games are so addictive, it’s like crack. Big Fish Games has a bazillion of them for PC and Mac, but I like playing this on the DS because I can hold it close to my face. I like to have things that occupy my hands while I watch TV, which I’ve needed more of, because I’ve ALSO discovered…

3) Supernatural on DVD. I’m now addicted to the adventures of Sam and Dean Winchester. I remember why I didn’t start watching this from the beginning. The premise-Hardy Boys meet Kolchek the Night Stalker (or Buffy, if you prefer), is very like the Maggie Quinn: Girl vs. Evil premise (Nancy Drew meets Kolchek). And yet they’re somehow also really different. Anyway. I’m only halfway into the second season (I have, after all, not spent the entire month on the couch… and also Netflicks only sends 3 DVDs at a time), but I’m hooked.

I’ve also read a bunch of books and watched a number of movies, which I’ll post about separately. No sense in overdoing it the first day back!

One thought on “Back in the Saddle

  1. That embroidery is BEAUTIFUL. But I can see why it’s taking a long time. I’m so glad you are finally on the Supernatural bandwagon. I love those Winchester boys. :-) Candy

Comments are closed.