News and stuff!

News! Texas Gothic has been included on the 2012 ALA list of Best Fiction for Young Adults. I’m thrilled to be included with some of MY favorite books of the year!

Also, central Texas folks, get ready. I will be at Book People in Austin on February 10th at 7pm, where I will be on a panel with fellow “spine-tingling YA authors” Jordan Dane, P.J. Hoover, Mari Mancusi, Cynthia Leitich Smith and LA Weatherly. We’ll dish on writing about scary stuff life vampires, ghosts, and falling in love.

Obviously, I’m back in the USA. Penny was so happy to see me when I got home. I fixed the line breaks on the posts from the cruise (now that I’m not paying tourist wi-fi rates) so if you want to read about the trip more or less as it unfolded, the first post is here.  
If you want the backstory on why I don’t sound quite as excited about the cruise as you might think, you can start with this post, which you should bear in mind was written days before that terrible cruise ship wreck last weekend. (Which, incidentally, I did not even hear about until I was ON the Carnival Magic, due to conspiracy of my friends and family.) 
However, in the end, I had a really nice time. Some enforced downtime was probably really good for me. I read four Agatha Christie novels and a Barbara Michaels ghosty-mystery. I did not get kidnapped by Pirates or Cuban Revolutionaries. I didn’t even get sunburned. 
I did, however, come home with a cold, which I am going to go nurse now with a cup of tea and the happy thought that the ALA thinks my book is good enough to include with some of MY favorites from 2011, including Beauty Queens, Enclave, and The False Princess. Congrats, my friends!
2 thoughts on “News and stuff!

  1. Congrats, Rosemary! Texas Gothic was a GREAT book. The characters really stuck with me – even after I finished it. Like, to the point where I missed them! Talk about making a lasting impression. ;)

Comments are closed.