Oh Canada

Today’s blog post is coming to you from on the road. Or on the rails, rather, since I’m typing in the cafe car of the Adirondack express, en route from Montreal to New York City. (I have no idea of the exact town we’re passing through, but it has a beautiful church.)

I loved Montreal, even though I was only there for about thirty-six hours. Downtown was really lovely. A little bit european feeling, a little bit New York with the international feel. But not a fraction as big, and much cleaner and less crowded. Actually, not that much like New York at all. But it probably reminded me more of cities in England. Except all the signs were in French.

(Oh!  The Royal Military College! We just passed that. That’s where I am.)

Arrived Friday night, and despite the fact that I was right off of Rue de Sainte Catherine, where the shops and restaurants are open until midnight on Friday, I was lame and had room service.

Saturday I woke up at the crack of dawn. Seriously. I don’t know if it was because the sun came up so early, but it was 4 am my time. So I rolled over and went back to sleep. Then I went out for breakfast and had crepes.  Nutella and banana. I had them at this place:

But I didn’t take a picture of my food because there was a table full of Italians next to me complaining about tourists. Which was kind of funny. But I was definitely not going to out myself by taking a snap of my delicious Nutella and banana crepe.

Then I walked around, burning off my breakfast, found a cafe with wifi, found out that my leisurely plan to stroll over to the Chapters bookstore on Rue de Sainte Catherine was FOILED by the fact that the booksigning wasn’t at that bookstore at all, but out in Pointe Claire. NOT THE SAME THING AT ALL.  It was pure dumb luck that I mentioned something offhand about walking to the shop and the other authors were like, “Wait. You can’t walk here from there.”

Cue my frantic search for a taxi to take me to the right place. It’s not a proper RCM trip without at least one OMG I’m in the wrong place moment. But I got there in time!

The booksigning was Freaking Amazing. There was a whole section of book bloggers who trekked in from the wilds of Toronto and Ottawa to see us. (And my “us” I mean the fabulous headliners, but I had fans coming to see me, too.) And look!  I got a present. I can’t wait to wear them on the one day it gets below freezing in Texas:

RCM with Canada mittens

Showing off a gift from a reader. Photobomb by Rachel Caine. (How many people can say that?)

Here’s a snap of the authors at work, signing and greeting their fans.

Melissa Marr and Kami Garcia (and in the far background, Kelley Armstrong) signing like crazy!

The next stop (for me) is New York City, for about 24 hours. Yay!  Then Philadelphia for the last stop on the Smart Chick’s Tour. September 18th, 2012, 7:00 pm, Oxford Valley Barnes & Noble, Philadelphia, PA.

I’ll be signing BRIMSTONE!  You can get your copy in your local bookstore, and I can send you a signed bookplate to put in it!  Just email me for information!

2 thoughts on “Oh Canada

  1. Rosemary, It was such a blast having you here in Pointe Claire and meeting you. I can’t speak for the rest of the bloggers but it was an awesome event. You and the rest of the authors were amazing and thanks for putting up with us crazy book bloggers :) BTW I have my recap posted.

    • I totally missed this, or I would have replied sooner! I had SO MUCH FUN in Pointe Claire, and you crazy book bloggers are a big reason why. You were awesome! Great meeting you, and I hope to get back to Canada someday soon.

Comments are closed.