The Rest of September and Stuff

Since my last post was from Canada, I figured I’d better update the blog and let y’all know that I was back in Texas. Though some of you do, because some of you have seen me. Maybe even wearing a Steampunk Hat:

Rosemary modeling Steampunk fashion at FenCon in Dallas

What all the fashionable are wearing last year.

So here’s a recap of the rest my trip:

New York City! I love visiting NYC. I don’t know that I’d want to live there, mostly because I couldn’t afford to live in Meg Ryan’s apartment from You’ve Got Mail. But if I COULD…

Meg Ryan in You've Got Mail

This was a tiny computer in 1998. But she still used AOL. What gives, Meg Ryan?

(Trivia tangent: You’ve Got Mail is one of my favorite romantic comedies. (I was going to say “recent” then realized it’s 14 years old!) The characters manage to spat/spar without coming off as shrewish or horrible. (Well, Ryan is just a little bit, but quirky!shrew was her rom-com shtick and it’s the least grating in this movie.) Also, why is it so hard to write a 21st century romantic comedy heroine who is responsible and capable until she decides she Must Get Married and then she turns into an incompetent idiot?)

(New tangent:  I just watched The Decoy Bride with Kelly Macdonald and David Tennant. (So this is kind of a Tennant Tangent)  It’s a UK film and I thought it was charming. Ridiculous premise, and in looking up this picture, I found out it has an appalling Rotten Tomatoes score. But I thought it was fun.)

Tenant isn’t this mean looking in the movie. Neither is Macdonald’s skirt quite so short.

Where was I?  Oh yeah. NYC.  So I’m striding down Broadway to my appointment, as one does when one is close enough that a taxi would be silly, and I’m navigating around people who insist to stop right in the middle of the sidewalk to take pictures/ask for directions/look at their map.  And I’m like, Ugh. Tourists. (As I wheel along with my pink polka dot suitcase.)

Lunch with my fabulous editor then down to Penn station to grab the train to Philadelphia. The Philly train station is gorgeous. Then I had a taxi ride out to the suburbs with Lavender the Opera Signing Cabbie. I can’t make this stuff up, people. (He was very nice. And an impressive baritone.)

Philadelphia’s 30th Street Station. Picture this with some people in it. But still this big and pretty and clean.

Then it was Smart Chicks Tour last stop. In a torrential downpour with tornado watches all around–considering all this, it was a nice turn out. Sarah Reese Brennan got to do a dramatic recitation from Wuthering Heights. Or was it Jane Eyre?  (This is what I get for taking so long to write a blog post, but it doesn’t really matter, because I was laughing too hard to really remember.)

Sarah Rees Brennan and friend. Sarah is the one on the right.

Thanks to all the Smart Chicks, especially the organizers and headliners Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr for a great time. The host bookstores were super, too!

So I was home for one day, then headed to FenCon, where many exciting things happened. I was on an Avengers panel where there was almost a fight. (Appropriate.)  Then a panel about writing and voice, where I had to rule a delightfully talkative panel with an iron fist.  But really, how do you top being on Hollywood Squares with a dalek?

Joe the Dalek gets ready for FenCon Squares. (Just like Hollywood Squares but with more questions about Star Trek.)

Since then it’s been work work work. And, of coruse, playing with my dog, who missed me terribly. See?

Here is Penny Dog. She is still because she is waiting on my cereal milk.

