The Epic Update (is epic)

Here’s what’s been going on in RCM land since my last post:

School Library Journal gave Spirit and Dust a starred review and said this:

Daisy is an endearing, strong heroine. Her magical interactions with the spirit world are made utterly believable by finely drawn, evocative details of how she achieves them and the side effects she suffers each time she does. This is one of the best YA novels of the year.

Wait, what was that????

This is one of the best YA novels of the year.

So I did this:

 photo NeilPatrickHarrisOnSesameStreetDance.gif

And for those of you across the pond, the Spirit and Dust UK edition is out now. Yay!

The other big thing is, I’m continuing to deal with losing my brother. In a weird way, it’s been worse than losing my dad, because Dad was ill for a long time, and also… well, you expect your parents to go first. Pete was so sudden (and so young!) that I keep forgetting, so the grief stays sharp and new. I’m shopping for beer and I think “Oh, if I don’t like this, I can give the other five bottles to Pete,” because that’s what he and I do when we try new beers, and then I remember that I can’t anymore and I end up sniveling in the beer aisle with everyone at Kroger looking at me like maybe I’ve had a few too many already.

So, I’m not going to lie, some days I just do this:

sad dog photo: Sad Dog tumblr_lye95pUHWf1qao6gx.gif

I’ve had a lot of life changes in twelve months. That can be hard, but it can also be a kick in the pants. The flip side of curling up under my blankie is the urge to streamline my life and get rid of All the Extra Stuff. I have boxes in this house that I haven’t unpacked since I moved in. I’m getting rid of CDs that I’ve replaced in digital form and paperbacks that I swore I would reread but admitted I probably won’t and I can get them on ebook if I do.

So there’s been some of this:

And I’ve been reminding myself that I have a job I love, wonderful friends, an exciting book to work on. I get to work in yoga pants, I don’t have to leave the house in the heat of the day.

Oh yeah, and that exciting book is due at the end of the summer. So until my next update, I’ll be doing nothing but this:

typing gif photo: Kitty 1665818vx5pzzmepe.gif

Onward and upward!

4 thoughts on “The Epic Update (is epic)

  1. ::sending hugs:: Sorry it’s been such a difficult year. But I’m sure there are many of those ‘best YA of the year’ accolades to come to offer some balance…

Comments are closed.