Real Life

The needs of the many don’t count with me where coffee is concerned

As you may have heard in the news, Starbucks is closing 600 stores nationwide, including MY Starbucks, where I’ve been going since I moved here. I wrote large portions of Prom Dates there, and I do most of my proofreading on that couch.

I’m bummed. I’m not terribly surprised, since (a) there are 9 stores within 5 miles of my house, (which actually includes three in-store kiosks at Target and B&N plus the one in the mall), and (b) I figured the ones that would go would be the ones without drive-thrus.

It’s a stupid thing to be upset about, except that I like those people, and the manager. The next nearest store is very… social. Not like quirky-cozy-social, but like yuppy-and-singles-social. Not a good place to work, not to mention, the street that it’s on, it’s only easy to get in and out of if you’re going in one direction–the main direction of morning rush hour. All wonderful things for business, but terribly inconvenient things for ME! Do my needs count for nothing?

Yes, I know. The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one. But it’s very grumpy-making when you’re the one, and it involves the delivery of your drug of choice.

And to the anti-big-corporate-coffee-mogul people… I feel you, but I live in the chain-restaurant capital of the world. Or at least of North Texas. I would love to patronize a little corner coffee cafe if such a thing existed among all the Taco Hells and Olive Gardens around here.