Hell Week

Heart stopping events this weekend

First things first. Don’t forget there’s a…

BOOKSIGNING for

HELL WEEK (Maggie Quinn: Girl vs. Evil book TWO)

on SATURDAY, August 30th

2 to 4 PM at the Hurst Barnes and Noble

Pertinent details, including a map to the location here.

Right now this is the only signing I have scheduled for this book. Someday, when I’m so famous I have people chanting my character’s names like nineteen-sixties schoolgirls at a Beatles concert, then I’ll have a bunch. 😉

However! This is not the only event going on this Labor Day weekend. On Monday, vendors for the Texas State Fair will compete to become this year’s equivelent of last year’s favorite state fair food: Fried Cookie Dough.

I swear, I could not make this stuff up. Highway to Hell, MQ book 3, takes place in South Texas, and my editor kept making remarks in the manuscript along the lines of "For real?" And I kept telling her, this state is way more quirky than I could invent.

This years contenders are: Texas fried jelly bellyes, deep-fried s’mores, fried banana split, and chocolate-covered strawberry waffle balls. (And if you think that last thing is not like the others, don’t worry. Quote from the Star Telegram article: "frying the strawberries in a chocolate coating keeps them firm." I think the word you’re looking for is CRISPY.)

But the most nauseating thing on the list: Chicken fried bacon. (Mr. RCM read this to me while I was eating breakfast. I did not thank him for it.)

Says the inventor (Glen Kusak of Yoakum Packing Co.): "As you know, everything is beter with bacon on it, and Texans like everything chicken fried… That was the thought process behind it."

The Star Telegram article is here if you don’t believe me.

I won’t be having fried bacon at my booksigning, but I hope y’all will come anyway!