Uncategorized

Movie Rambles (Cold Medicine Version)

I’m starting to get confused what I put on Twitter, and what I post on the blog. But I may have mentioned my sinuses have taken my head hostage in our ongoing battle for skull supremacy. The catch-22 with cold and sinus stuff, at least for me, is that any drug that’s actually effective on my symptoms usually knocks me on my butt. But since I’ve got a couple of days to relax, I figured I might as well take advantage of it and see if I can regain the upper hand.

(The sad thing is, Lizzie is all congested, too. 😦 *I* won’t go to the doctor, but I might have to take her to the v-e-t.)

Anyway. I have some thoughts on what I’ve been watching. Bear in mind these are filtered through a Robitussin filter.

The Forbidden Kingdom. This was a really fun movie. I enjoyed it SO much more than The Bank Job (Mr. RCM’s pick). Jackie Chan and Jet Li. About 75% extended fight scenes, 10% story, 15% stuff that was just cool to look at. A definitely recommend.

Penelope. A charming movie. Like any fairy tale, follows a definite formula, but that’s okay when they freshen it up here and there. Penelope deserves her happy ending, which is more than you can say about a lot of fairy tale heroines, and James McAvoy (whom I understand many people find to be quite the heart throb) was a charming non-prince. Recommended for those who appreciate sweet but quirky romantic movies.

Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan. This was on one of the movie channels yesterday. I haven’t watched it in ages. Bear in mind, I was warped by formed by my early exposure to 70’s Sci-Fi reruns, thanks to my mother. So I grew up with Kirk, Spock and Bones as sort of honorary TV uncles. I was going to post that Khan was my favorite original series movie, but then I remembered how much I enjoy The Undiscovered Country. But allowing for melodramatic acting and dated special effects, Khan is a close second. The story manages to call back to history to please the fans, but it stands alone for the non-fans. It actually uses the age and experience of the original characters as plot and character points. (It was basically about being old enough for the past to bite you in the ass, whereas later they sometimes tried to ignore how old the characters had gotten.) I liked the point that Kirk had always cheated death, and for most of the movie, that trend continues. Which is why the ending is so AWESOME. (And still makes me sniffle. Shut up. Honorary TV uncles, people.)

I have very mixed feelings about bringing Spock back (spoiler!) in the third movie, but if they hadn’t, he wouldn’t have been around for The Undiscovered Country, but we might have been spared Spock’s "brother" in that fifth movie that was so bad I have blocked the name from my mind. But in general, I think it’s cheating to kill a character in an awesome self-sacrificing way, then bring them back. (I’m looking at you, Buffy. But I got on board with that when it was clear they hadn’t just hit the resest button.)