Uncategorized

Rosemary vs. the Bagel

So, I confess, I’m a little bit of a klutz. Not a big one. Just a little one. Bumps. Bruises. Embarrassing things. I once closed my hair in the car door. But because I know this about myself, I’m usually extra careful when I do things like drive and employ sharp objects.

But not yesterday. I hadn’t had coffee yet when I went to slice a bagel for my brunch and end up slicing my finger instead. My thought process went something like this:

That didn’t feel like cutting into bread.

Dammit, that was my finger. I hate it when I do that.

Wow, look how far that knife went in.

Whoa. That’s a lot of blood. Look at how that’s gaping…

My goodness. I think I’d better sit down.

I think I’m not going to make it to a chair.

DON’T HIT YOUR HEAD ON THE WAY TO THE FLOOR!

. . .

Whoa. This tile is really cold.

So, anyway. Mom kicked into nurse mode, and got me on my feet, and we headed to the Doc in the Box. Funny thing. Here was the conversation:

Me: (filling out form) It’s not that bad, really. I would have just Superglued it, but I was afraid I
would pass out again.

Them: (snatching pen from my hand) AGAIN??

Me: Well, there was blood. And I hadn’t eaten, or had any coffee yet.

Them: We can’t see you if you fainted. You have to go to the ER.

Me: Seriously? It’s like, an inch long and maybe a half an inch– Whoa, dizzy.

Them: Hasta La Vista, baby.

Which is where I ended up. On one hand, they mocked me mightily–but on the other hand I was an easy case. The biggest concern was making sure I didn’t keel over again. Dermabond for my finger, a tetnus booster, and I was on my way.

Today, typing is a little slow, since I have to do it with 9 fingers. As long as I keep it up, it’s only a little throbby. Bad enough to be a pain, literally and figuratively. But not dire. What REALLY hurts is the arm where I got the shot. Ugh.

Thanks to everyone on twitter and here who sent hopes I was okay. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Rosemary vs. the Bagel”

  1. Snort. Sorry. Um. Glad you are feeling better. Snort. (stop it Candy, that’s mean.) Really. Snort. Sigh. Truthfully, this is one of the many reasons we are friends. 🙂 We can be klutzy together. Hugs

    Like

  2. You slice your fingers, I bang my head into blunt objects. Really, I’ve knocked myself out a couple of times. Hope it doesn’t hasten the onset of Alzheimer’s. Lot less to worry about with fingers, even if you lose one . . . no, no scratch that! Hope you’re better. Does that make sense? What I mean is I hope it heals fast. Guess that doesn’t make a lot of sense either, but you know what I mean.

    Like

Comments are closed.