Uncategorized

Movie Madness

2009 is full of movies that I’m so excited about. Let me count the ways…

Terminator Salvation. Terminator mythos. Post-apocolypic dystopia, HKs, robots, cyborgs, lots of guns and many many explosions. Happy happy me. Oh yeah, and Christian Bale. (I don’t care about the meltdown. I’m too excited about this movie.).

Star Trek. Cannot wait. So excited. Inarticulate with anticipation. (Also, I’m amazed at some of the spot on casting.)

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. More transforming robots. What else do I need to know.

Night at the Museum: Battle for the Smithsonian. Ben Stiller gets on my nerves like you wouldn’t believe, but I love the first movie. I mean, I loved it on the concept alone, but the non-Stiller cast were such winners. The Old Guys, the tiny guys, even (speaking of someone I prefer in small doses) Robin Williams. THIS one is in the Smithsonian and has the awesome Amy Adams as Amelia Earheart.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. Order of the Phoenix, which was not my favorite story, was awesome on the screen. They’ve managed to keep the quality of these movies high, and not rest on their laurels. HBP (the book) had a big case of Set Up The Big Finale-itis, but I suspect this is where flash and dark spectacle will win me over. Nothing short of Skynet’s inevitable takeover (see movie #2) could keep me from seeing the last movie… er, two movies… so they can count on my $8 at the movie theatre for this one.

GI: Joe. Cool factor +10. Christopher Ecclestone is Destro. (Also, Channing Tatum is my new movie boyfriend.)

The Princess and the Frog. New Disney "princess" movie. I cannot wait. I’m such a girl. (Yes, I love transforming, exploding robots. And princesses. What about it.) Look how adorable she is!
The Princess and the Frog photo

Things that look like they might be cool:
X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Okay, I admit, the press hasn’t been stellar on this one. But I entered a contest to go to the premier, so what the hell. Also, it’s X-men, has Gambit in it (finally!) and… oh yeah. Hugh Jackman. (Too bad he won’t be singing. That would be awesome!)

UP< the new Disney PIXAR. The concept didn’t interest me, but some of the sneak peaks (I watch a lot of Disney channel) are making me laugh. ALso, Ed Asner.

Jennifer’s Body. Demon in a high school. I’m going to at least be curious. Looks like it’s probably either dark comedy or just stupid adn gross.

Where the Wild Things Are. Didn’t love the book, so I have no investment here.

Amelia Earhart. Fascinating subject, but I don’t really connect with Ms. Swank.

Things that don’t:

Land of the Lost. Bleh.

The Time Traveller’s Wife. I admired but hated this book. But I will probably watch this on DVD to see how they filmed it, because I bet it was a challenge.

The Lovely Bones. This was another impressive book that was no joy to read. Again, I will probably watch on DVD.

Fame. Remakes. Ugh.

A Christmas Carol. Jim Carrey does Dickens. Jim Carrey’s crimes against literature continue.

Sherlock Holmes. I was somewhat interested in this until I saw pictures of Downey as Holmes. I just cannot wrap my head around that casting, I hate the goatee, and it sounds like a "reinvisioning" of a character that is sacrosanct in my mind.

ETA: HOLY CRAP! They’re making a movie of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. Smart move! Don’t screw the pooch, Hollywood, like you did with The Dark is Rising/"The Seeker"

What about you guys? What are you looking foward to at the theater this year?

1 thought on “Movie Madness”

Comments are closed.