Uncategorized

Name that band…

Help a writer out…

I need a name for a crossover/alternative country band out of Austin, TX. Their music is along the lines of Reckless Kelly, Mike McClure Band, or Cross Canadian Ragweed. The band’s founders are all young, about 21. They started in college (University of Texas) as sort of a country garage band sort of thing, but now they’re playing dance halls and bigger bars.

I could just call them the Joe Smith Band (that seems to be the theme with bands of this subgenre), but I thought it would be fun to throw this open for idea from my readers. Heck, I’ve no name for the front man so you can name him yourself if you want. (I know girls can front country rock bands, but for the purposes of the story, gotta be a guy.)

Any ideas? I’ll put the ones I like in a hat and draw one out.

7 thoughts on “Name that band…”

  1. Band names are so tough. I have a rock band in my WIP and I changed the name like six times.Here's what comes to mind for yours:Blue CoyoteHill Country Hicks (or hacks)The (insert adjective, funky?) ArmadillosSoCo (after AUstin's south congress neighborhood)DirtkickersRoadkillGood luck!

    Like

  2. There's a really good band out of Austin who does folk music. They have a song called Bowling Green Flag Football Team.Maybe that can inspire something. Alternatively (as I procrastinate going to bed for work tomorrow):Pecan Street PowwowBrawlerDrunken Ho-downHay BabyThree Horse Town (as a reference to both Three Doors Down and Three Dog Night)Peyote CoyoteSave our Strings (reference to Save Our Springs, a famous ecological movement here)Hippie Kay YayShoot n HollerBull Creek Think TankI'm going to stop now.

    Like

Comments are closed.