Uncategorized

In which Richard Burton and I appear in Little Rock

I was going to write about my drive to Little Rock, AR, only I had this crazy dream last night. I was rehearsing Taming of the Shrew, and Richard Burton (I know, right?) steps in to play Petruchio, and suddenly I can’t remember ANY of my lines. And Richard Burton is looking at me like I’m an idiot and this is keeping him from the bottle of whiskey in his dressing room.
https://i0.wp.com/www.independent.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00012/BURTON_12969t.jpgRichard Burton (front)

So the prompter is feeding me my lines and suddenly I realize why I don’t know any of them, because we’re not doing Taming of the Shrew anymore, we’re now doing Anne of a Thousand Days, and I’m Anne Boleyn.

https://i1.wp.com/www.tudorplace.com.ar/Pelicula/ATD02.jpg‘Richard Burton and Genevieve Bujold

So then I think, "Oh, well, no wonder." And right about the time I figure it out and get on the right page of dialogue, I wake up. Which doesn’t seem quite fair, because that play has a great monologue in it.

I used to have dreams all the time about showing up for work and being shoved onstage with no idea what play we were doing. This is the first time there has been a Famous Guest Star, though. Kind of a random one. Also, I’m not sure what it says about my mental state that I was in a play where I get my head chopped off at the end."

On a weird side note, I’m always think that Richard Burton plays Richard in Lion in Winter, but that’s completely wrong. That’s Anthony Hopkins, another Welshman. Um. Hannibal was hot as a youngster. Just saying.

On another weird side note, I never saw either Cleopatra or the Burton/Taylor Taming of the Shrew, because I never saw ANY Elizabeth Taylor movies until I left home for college. My mother never watched them on TV, because she never forgave Elizabeth Taylor for breaking up Eddie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds.
https://i0.wp.com/www.insidesocal.com/outinhollywood/,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,fisher.jpg

Anyway. I’m signing books with Melissa Francis, Stacy Jay, Linda Gerbsan, Marley Gibson and Chloe Neil later today at the North Little Rock Books A Million from 5 to 8 PM. It’s a whole event called "Books, Blood and Bones" (Spooky!) and there are activities, and the blood bank is going to be there. (For deposits, not withdrawals, you vampire loves.)

1 thought on “In which Richard Burton and I appear in Little Rock”

Comments are closed.