Real Life, Uncategorized

It’s the little things

I bought a new toothbrush. One of those spinning kinds. Not a crazy expensive one, but a middle of the road deal. As I was brushing my teeth with it this morning, in the space where I usually thought about how behind I am on everything, how I’m never going to catch up on e-mail/interviews/blog posts, this morning I was thinking, “Gosh, I really like this toothbrush. It gets my teeth really clean and smooth-feeling, and that makes me happy.”

So, I’m trying to think whether this makes me bizarrely fastidious about my oral hygiene (which… okay, granted), or if my expectations of happiness are set so low.

I suspect it’s a combo. But really, is it a bad thing for something small to make you happy? I mean, it’s not like my worlds is changed by a toothbrush, but it’s nice when some small moment, some infinitesimal detail of life intrudes on your lackluster day to give you a moment of “Ah. That’s nice.”

It may not last. I had to rush downstairs and get my stuff for my tax appointment, certain that later I’d be putting a kidney up on Ebay to pay Uncle Sam. I’m still behind on e-mail/interviews/blog posts. But all else aside… at least my teeth are clean.

I’m curious. What little detail of life makes you happy? A warm pet on your lap? A cup of tea? The first breath of spring? Or is it something as pedestrian as mine?

8 thoughts on “It’s the little things”

  1. I LOVE a new toothbrush! I can't use the electric kind because they tickle. But I geek out over all the new "technological advances" in the manual toothbrushes, like the specialized bristles for different parts of your teeth. Mainly they just feel really good. If I were rich, I'd have a new toothbrush every week. (Actually, I guess I wouldn't have to be rich. Just slightly daffy.)

    Like

  2. Going to sleep after putting freshly cleaned sheets on the bed, especially when it is winter and I am using the flannel sheets.

    Like

  3. Gosh, I don't know. Is that sad? lol in all honesty, probably just a good cup of steaming coffee in the morning. And maybe, once in a while, to be able to sleep in. Oh I know, the one that no matter how crappy my day is going…if my kiddo says she loves me (out of the blue and not for any selfish "I want this now" reasons)…that makes me take a breath and relish the moment.

    Like

  4. I don't think it's a low standard thing, I think it's more that having shiny clean teeth means you want to smile more, which in turn makes you happy 🙂

    Like

  5. I'm so happy to know my weirdness is not especially weird. (Or my friends are equally freakish about oral hygiene.)And Amy–1000 times yes. Love fresh sheets. Cool, smooth ones in the summer are awesome, too. (This is the Texan in me talking. Flannel is good, too.)

    Like

  6. I love a good nap. I don't know why, but that really makes me happy. Length doesn't matter, but if I can get-in some solid REM's…man, I love it.

    Like

  7. I actually thought about this all day today. And you know what? I don't think that it means that your expectations of life are low. I think that it means that your expectations of life are high, and you experience true happiness.Imagine someone who needs big events to make them happy — nothing else can. Now imagine yourself. That person spends their life miserable, because they can only be happy when those giant, rare things happen.You, however, are gladdened by a toothbrush. You expect that life will be full of more joy than just that brought about by epic events.In summary, toothbrushes = success.

    Like

Comments are closed.