Uncategorized

Movie Monday: TRAILERS!

Okay, so the OBVIOUS thing would be to talk about the Harry Potter movie, since of course I went to see it on Friday. I’m really very proud of myself, because I’ve gotten into the habit of saying I want to go see a movie when it comes out, and then not going. Pretty much, I have to see a movie the first weekend, or I lose initiative and end up waiting for the DVD.

On of the reasons is reviews. I hate to read reviews of something I already want to see. One, because objective quality is not always a reliable indicator of my enjoyment of a movie. (See: Ghost Rider, et al.) Two, because once something is pointed out in a review, I can’t NOT see it–good or bad–and it kicks my brain into editorial mode. I start analyzing whether the review was right or not, or justifying why I like the movie anyway.

Fortunately, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was actually a really well made movie in it’s own right. Definitely one of the most objectively awesome in a long time. It was tightly written, atmospheric, emotional (best acting out of the kids in awhile) and truly horrific. Bring a hanky and a jacket. The landscape of the movie is appropriately bleak, and made me physically cold, like I was right there with the heros.

BUT… all that aside! I got my money’s worth out of my ticket before the movie even started, because we had the BEST trailers! I think there were eight, and six of them were movies I can’t wait to see. (Okay, five of them are, and one looked intriguing.)

TRON LEGACY: My brother and I watched this video so much, I think we wore out two or three VHS tapes. So there is a huge nostalgia factor to supplement the UTTER COOLNESS. Expect us to be lining up with all the other 30 something nerds who actually remember when computer generated imaging was a crazy new thing. Not to mention, a movie about a video game??? Dude, that was SO original! (Though later would come The Last Starfighter, which ALSO used early cgi to turn a video game ace into an action hero.)

THE GREEN HORNET: I never watched this TV show, though I’m aware of it’s existence. I just know that the trailer looked funny and very cool.

(NARNIA) VOYAGE OF THE DAWN TREADER: I always have a hard time getting past the horribleness of Eustace in this book, but hopefully it will be watered down by the actiony-adventure parts. I’ve enjoyed all of these movies; visually and stylistically, they paint such a vivid picture. I know they have detractors from people who loves the books (and hate the books, who aren’t going to be pleased regardless), but both the previous movies have trilled and transported me. So I’m looking forward to this one.

RED RIDING HOOD: Not sure I’m going to be lining up to see this one, but it certainly LOOKED cool. The trailer made a point of telling me it was from the director of “Twilight” which makes sense. It looks like it will be big on the teen-love-angst and visual imagery (lots and LOTS of shots of red cloak flowing on white snow, etc.). How it holds up on story, I’m not sure.

COWBOYS & ALIENS: Holy crap. Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig and horses and aliens and laser weapons and oh my GAWD I cannot wait for this movie. (I am only leery about Olivia Wilde; her appearance in this trailer looked as wanly boring as Thirteen in House. Maybe she’ll get eaten by aliens early and we can get back to the awesomeness that is Ford and Craig in a movie with COWBOYSANDEFFINGALIENSOMG!!!

YOGI BEAR (in 3D): Not if you paid me. Okay, maybe if you paid me.

KUNG FU PANDA 2: I enjoyed the first movie much more than I thought I would. But not everything needs a sequel.

THE GREEN LANTERN: I’m on a Green Lantern kick right now anyway, by complete coincidence. So I was THRILLED by this trailer, which gets so much of the imagery just right. (Unfortunately, superhero costumes are unavoidably awkward in live action, no matter how ripped (um, very) the actor is. Or is that just me?) So this was another trailer that thrilled me just for being what it was. After Iron Man, I’ve begun to believe again in the coolness of the super hero movie. I’m really looking forward to this one.

(OMG this post is SO LONG. Making up for lost time, I guess. Enjoy!)

6 thoughts on “Movie Monday: TRAILERS!”

  1. I'll admit it…but don't tell. I'll add country strong on there. For some reason it has that Young Athlete Over Comes fill-in-the-blank-based-really-really-really-really-loosely-on-a-true-story feel.

    Like

  2. I loved how many trailers we got before Harry Potter!Tron Legacy: Loved the original but I am not sure if I will see this one opening weekend. Though it was made for our generation!The Green Hornet: If you could just give me Cato without Seth Rogen I would so be there! Though it does look like it will have some wicked cool gadgets in it!Narnia: I will be sneaking out of the family whatever is going on to see it Christmas Day. I have really enjoyed these movies!RRH: Waiting for the 2nd trailer to see what the actual story is. I love Catherine Hardwick though not for Twilight but all her other chick type movies. So I will see which way this one goes…Cowboys and Aliens: I am so there! James Bond and Indiana Jones fighting aliens…nothing could be better!Yogi Bear/Kung Foo Panda: Probably eventually on DVD while babysitting friend's kids. It always happens!The Green Latern: I will be there drooling over Ryan Reynolds and hope the movie rocks! I know it will be funny 🙂

    Like

  3. Bria– I think there is always room for sentimental favorites. :-DFelicia– re: The Green Hornet & Seth Rogan. Is that who that is? Hmmm. I'm not a fan girl. But I will probably go see for Cato & the gadgets and hope the annoying schlep schtick is minimal.

    Like

  4. 1. At first glance it appeared that "UTTER COOLNESS" was a preview. I had to admit I was very dissapointed that it's not lolz. 2. You had me at cowboys. Aliya 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.