Highway to Hell

On the trail of El Cupacabra

I am delighted to see that Amazon recognizes the value of books on cryptozology. Today in my inbox, I got this:

Dear Amazon.com Customer,
Customers who have purchased or rated Highway to Hell (Maggie Quinn: Girl Vs Evil) by Rosemary Clement-Moore might like to know that Tracking the Chupacabra: The Vampire Beast in Fact, Fiction, and Folklore is now available.  You can order yours for just $14.91 ($10.04 off the list price) by following the link below.

Tracking the Chupacabra: The Vampire Beast in Fact, Fiction, and Folklore
Benjamin Radford

(I’m including the link, because the book actually sounds cool, and I have already ordered my copy. If for no other reason than to find out what OTHER awesome works of fiction include El Chupacabra.)

Even more awesome were the other books in the e-mail:
Tracking the Man-beasts: Sasquatch, Vampires, Zombies, and More
Joe Nickell

TRUE GIANTS: Is Gigantopithecus Still Alive?
Mark A. Hall

The Michigan Dogman: Werewolves and Other Unknown Canines Across the U.S.A. (Unexplained Presents)

Linda S. Godfrey

Don’t know what Gigantophithecus is? From the book cover, it’s nothing I would want to meet in a dark alley.

Okay, so I’m poking a little fun, but I LOVE tracing the folklore of boogeyman legends. To me, the overlap of culture, geography, snippets of history–heck, even meteorology–that conspire to create enduring legends is fascinating. This should surprise no one who has read my books.

So what was YOUR favorite boogeyman story growing up? The more regional and wacky, the better!