Real Life

This time I swear…

Next week I will….

Start blogging twice a week again.

Tweet about things that are not book promo (expect to hear a lot about my dog).

Figure out what the heck is up with my email.

Answer all the emails I haven’t answered because of whatever is up with my email.

Do my taxes. Or at least find all the receipts for my taxes.

Catch up with friends who think I’m dead.

Apologize to friends who wish me dead. (Look, no one ever MEANS to be an insensitive ass, but it happens sometimes.)

Order swag for Spirit and Dust.

Post about ways that you can get swag for Spirit and Dust.

And, oh yeah, write about fifty-kajilion words, which might mean that some things on this list might roll over to the NEXT next week.

Or, you know, all of the things. cards,funny,procrastination,textpix-980a97c9de216b381af7805fbb7aedb0_h

You would think that someone as…. let’s call me particular… would be less of a procrastinator. I swear it’s not on purpose.  It just happens. The roll over falls into two categories:

Stuff that can wait (until it can’t anymore)

Stuff I really dread doing (like taxes and doctor appointments)

This is probably the trait that drives me the most crazy about myself. So you would think that I would have FIXED it by now, wouldn’t you?

Yeah. I know. But I keep putting it off.

Some days I’m very optimistic. I’m going to fix this. I’m going to stay on top of things. Let’s make this happen.

Some days I look at my list, realize how behind I’ve gotten, and figure I’ll never catch up so I might as well just crawl back into bed.

Then I remind myself that the dogs need kibble, and if I don’t want them to eat me, I’d better get my rear in gear and tackle the stuff that can’t wait. And the stuff I dread. And the stuff that CAN wait, before it turns into the stuff that can’t.

I’ll let y’all know how that goes… next week.

In the meantime, here’s a few things coming up.

Next week (for real) I’m speaking at the Creative Writing Club for Teens at the Arlington (Texas) Public Library central branch.  It’s Thursday, March 28th from 7:30 to 8:45pm and I am REALLY looking forward to it. You don’t have to register, but the website suggests coming early. I hope you’ll join me if you’re in the area. (You can ask me how my To Do List is going.)