Book News, Spirit and Dust

News bulletin from the writing cave

Yes, I’m still flying the flag, but here’s a few cool things going on:

Spirit and Dust as been chosen as an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers.  Yay!!!!

I am totally jazzed to be included in this list, because a lot of bookish people love my books (and I’m so grateful!) but it’s cool that someone (enough someone’s to make a panel) thinks that people who don’t already love books will enjoy my writing.

FYI, I’m not sure I posted that Spirit and Dust was also chosen by the Texas Library Association for the TAYSHAS list.  That is also a huge honor and I didn’t want to not point that out. Because, ego, whatever.

Finally,  I have something new coming out, but it’s not a novel. Do you like Veronica Roth’s Divergent series?  Have you not read it, but you want to know something about it before the movie comes out?  Do you just want to find out what the buzz is about?

DivergentThinking_FrontCoverFrom Smart Pop Books: Divergent Thinking. Your favorite authors (like me!) writing about your favorite books. My essay is called “From Fire Signs to Factions” and it sets the Factions of Divergent’s world in context of ancient and modern astrology, current psychological typing, and also, superheroes.  Because how many times do you get to read an essay that talks about Ptolomy, Neville Chamberlain, Carl Jung, Meyers-Briggs, 70’s singles bar pick up lines, Shakespeare, Disney movies, DC and Marvel comics all in the same essay!*

There’s also articles from other smart people who are smart about other things: Blythe Woolston, Debra Driza, Maria V. Snyder, Jenna Snyder, Elizabeth Norris, Dan Krokos, Jenn Lynn Barnes, Julia Karr, Janine K. Spendlove, Elizabeth Wein, Mary Borsellino.  But it’s my blog so whatever.

Anyway. I know a lot of librarians and teachers read this blog, and this might be something you want for your kids to read so they can be all like, Hey, so THAT’S how this books series about jumping off trains relates to actual real world history and psychology and stuff. 

You can find out more and read samples at the Divergent Thinking page on Smart Pop Books.**  There’s links from there to online retailers. The book comes out March 4th, but you can preorder it to be ready for the movie. Whoot.

Okay. Back to writing before Mom comes downstairs and finds out I’m on the Internet. Because that’s my life. Whoot. 🙂

* This is why my English teachers either loved me or hated me.

** I have also contributed to their books on the Twilight series (A New Dawn), the Uglies/Pretties series ( Mind Rain), and the Percy Jackson series (Demigods and Monsters).

 

surrender_ms