Uncategorized

For Writers Who Want Readers

I am really good at four things:

  1. Writing.
  2. Teaching.
  3. Being humble.
  4. Teaching about writing.

I’ve wanted to teach more online classes for awhile now, but first I had to beta test and tinker, and eventually announcing the classes became like sending a novel out on submission. I had to, like the ads say, Just Do It.

Which leads me nicely to the subject of my inaugural class:

Make Your Book a Must Read:
The Foundations of creating a stand-out pitch for your project. 

 

Click that title to go straight to the class description page. The first class is soon.

Don’t worry, loyal readers! I’m not quitting my day job. I wouldn’t mention it on the blog except I figured you might be curious what I’ve been doing with my time besides eating ice cream for breakfast and taking pictures of my dog. (Skip down if you’re not interested.)

What it is:

The class is about coming up with a description of your book that will make people want to read it right away. A “pitch” generally means ‘pitching’ the idea to a literary agent or editor to see if he or she might be interested in your book. (When you send a letter (or email, these days) it’s called a query letter.)

Who should take it:

  • You have finished your first draft and you’re getting ready to start the revisions. It will make your revisions easier, I swear.
  • You have polished your manuscript to be as awesome as can be and you’re ready to start trying to sell it to a publisher.
  • You plan to independently publish your work and you want a description that will make reader click, “Buy Now.”

And one more:

  • You’ve started a book, or you’ve started a lot of them, and you can’t seem to find any traction. What makes a good pitch makes a good story. This class is about finding the strongest elements of your story–the pillars that hold it up–which will help you write finish your novel.

Besides, the introductory price is crazy economical for this kind of class, so it’s low risk/high yield. You don’t have to travel to a conference, you don’t have to download any software, and you can see me but I can’t see you, so you can take the class in your pajamas

So, writers, what are you waiting for? Click through here to go to web class page, which has all the information. You can also get there from the “For Writers” menu at the top right of the header.

Now, readers (and writers who are readers): I have been busy.  A lot of you have asked: am I working on a new book, is there going to be a sequel to The Splendor Falls/the Goodnight books, am I ever going to leave my house and do an event again…?  The answers are yes, don’t worry be happy, and pretty soon, actually.

I will be moderating a panel of spooky awesome authors at the Valley Ranch Public Library on June 19th at 7pm. (Valley Ranch is kind of sort of part of Irving, TX. Ish.)

Also, I’m working on a new book that is going to make you happy if you enjoyed The Splendor Falls. (It’s not a sequel, sorry, but it’s mysterious and romantic and full of atmosphere. Also, if you haven’t figured it out yet, I like to connect my books, even when they’re not sequels. It’s just not always obvious.)

Other than that… you know I’m superstitious about talking about works in progress, right? That’s the problem. Everything I’m working on is in progress!

 

What about you guys? Do you have projects in the works?  What are you working on right now?