Uncategorized

Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da

There are two ways to go with this post:
1) OMG, this has been the craziest summer EVER.
2) Oh. My. Gawd. This has been the most tedious summer ever.

By ‘craziness’ of course I mean ‘chaos’ and, seriously, I’d gotten to the point about mid-July where crises became so routine that it reached the point of tedium.

“Oh, there’s water pouring out of the ceiling? I guess that’s this week’s thing.”

“Did you just use the word ‘cracked’ and ‘engine’ in the same sentence. Just making sure. How many zeros in that estimate again? That many? Okee doke, let me get back to you on that.”

So yes. A lot of personal and family stuff going on the last few months. It’s like kayaking through the rapids (or so I imagine), where it’s challenging but not impossible, but it’s hard to spare the concentration for things like, oh, say blog posts. Or remembering to… Well, thinking about anything other than avoiding smashing on rocks or tipping over or whatever.

What if someone came up with an app that bent time just enough so that you could send yourself a text or an email from the future?

“Hey, you know that thing you’re thinking about right now? Go ahead and do it. Trust me on this. Sincerely, A Friend.”

I suppose life wouldn’t be the same if we knew the future. At least our personal future. I’ve been exploring this concept with an author friend of mine, who’s (incredibly entertaining) time travel book comes out next year. It’s easy to say “Oh, I wish I’d done/not done X or Y.” Hindsight, blah blah blah. I’m not talking about obvious mistakes. If you have sound decision A and sound decision B, each may lead to the same place via different paths, or to really different places. So say you’re in place A and you don’t like it. If you sent a message to past you saying “Take path B,” who’s to day that place B wouldn’t be worse/harder/sadder than place A?

No one can, unless you can see down the road in two alternate universes.

Maybe I’ve been watching too much Fringe on Netflix.

Netflix on the Apple TV now goes straight into the next episode of a series. So you’re like, “I’m going to turn this off after this episode, but then the teaser for the next episode starts before you can find the remote that slid between the sofa cussions, and then you’re hooked for another 43 minutes.*

Coming back from the theoretical and back to my own life (because this is my blog, and it’s all about me), I’m still kayaking, still avoiding rocks, still keeping my head above water (mostly).

Hey, sort of like most of the other people on the planet!

Life goes on, bra. La-la-la how life goes on.


*It’s not all Netflix and cupcakes around here. I’ve been working on a new paranormal romance that y’all are going to love! I’m having to do a lot or research about yacht racing, though. If anyone yacht races, email me, will you?)

3 thoughts on “Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da”

  1. My last name is in your book Texas Gothic! What’s funny is my uncle’s name is Steve (: and I live in Texas too!! Great book, you’re a very talented author.

    Like

  2. Dear Ms.Moore. My name is Anne Wilgenbusch (as it says right above duh, Anne) and I am 13 years old and live in center all Iowa. For my 8th grade language class we have to do what is called an “author study” which is where we read and write about an author of our choice and I choose you. I would love to say that my mind fell right in you immediately, but sadly I did not know of you until ,by a stroke of luck, I came across you name. Now I have looked on many different websites and cannot seem to find much more than a few sentences on you. So I am here to ask you permission to ask you some questions for an author biography. I understand if you can’t/ don’t want to, but it would really mean a lot. I could email you or just leave a few comments. And I would only need to ask a few questions. Thank you for your time,

    A big fan,
    Anne Wilgenbspusch

    Like

Comments are closed.