Uncategorized

What A Post

corpus-christi-marina
Corpus Christi Marina on a beautiful clear day

Every time I go to a book event, I take (too few) pictures and plan to post them on the blog. But if I don’t do it right when I get home, and then I try to think of something clever to say about it, and a week goes by and I think, this isn’t really current. Now I have to think of a new subject to blog about.

This pretty much applies to all current events—the Rosemary Centered ones and, you know, actual current events, like snow in March and stuff. Snow DayOh, hey, I can take pictures of the snow!  Oh, hey, it’s now 80 degrees. I guess that ship has sailed.

But what the heck.

The Teen Bookfest by the Bay in Corpus Christi was loads of fun. Get this–it was even held in the high school where I had my first job. I was filled with nostalgia, especially when I had the pleasure of introducing Jackson Pearce to Whataburger.

There are a few Whataburgers scattered through the south, but really it’s a Texas thing. Whataburger achieves a sort of mythical level of nostalgia once you cross the Red River. As a South Texan, I would even say that it’s just not the same outside a certain radius from their home base in Corpus Christi.

First, there’s the possibility that this could happen:

Horse at Whataburger

But that could theoretically happen at any drive though. (Maybe not Starbucks. Though if this happened at the shop I frequent, I would buy the rider all the White Chocolate Mochas. All of them.)

At Whataburger, you can get things like a patty melt or a chophouse burger or a chicken strip monterey melt. Plus there’s the roulette wheel suspense in the fact that these may leave the menu at any time, without warning.

You can buy Whatafries and Spicy Ketchup at HEB supermarkets (also based in Corpus). There’s also the mystique of something you can pretty much only get in Texas. (Like California’s In-and-Out burger. When they first came to Fort Worth, they had to have police officers to direct traffic. When I finally tried one, I was like, this is good, but it’s no Green Chili Double.)

Green Chili Double

But the real reason that anyone who grew up in Texas has a special place in their heart for Whataburger is because that’s where you went to get food in the middle of the night when you were done partying.

Whataburger

ANYway. That’s my report on the Teen Bookfest by the Bay. Thank you to the librarians and teachers in the many, many school districts that participated for putting on a fantastic event!  Here’s to many more.

Other recent events: The North Texas Teen Book Fest, which was freaking amazing. There were about 3000 readers there. THREE THOUSAND. And 50 authors, so many that I didn’t even get to talk to them all. I just had to wave from across the room. The hard working organizers have made it very easy to share the event with you, because the NTTBF Facebook Page is full of FANTASTIC photos of the event.*

(Yes, I know this is cheating as far as event recapping goes, but otherwise I’ll never catch up and never go on to talking about whatever is new. Besides… photos!)

This past Sunday I spoke at the North Texas chapter of Sisters in Crime, which was terrific fun. I taught the “cram as much information in as possible” version of my “How to make your book sound exciting,” aka “Pitching” class. I’m going to teach a new online version of this soon—a week long, email based, work at your own pace—and if you’re interested, drop me a line at rosemary (at) readrosemary (dot) com.

(And when you hit “update” instead of “preview” you look like an idiot with a placeholder title and un-fact-checked spellings of author’s names.)