Uncategorized

It was the best of cons, it was the crowdedest of cons.

So, San Diego Comic Con happened. I took some video but I haven’t had a chance to approve it. I tend to get a lot of up the nostril shots when I try to get cute with the video feature on my phone. You’ll have to content yourself with still photos.

Friends Kate and Jenny and I wait for the shuttle to pick up our badges. The first of many shuttle waits.
Friends Kate and Jenny and I wait for the shuttle to pick up our badges. The first of many shuttle waits.

Anyway. I guess my main impression was the lines and and the crowds. There was tons of cool stuff. Saw the Twelfth Doctor Who looking for a restaurant. Discovered that I have some kind of recognition malfunction where I don’t recognize people from TV, even if they’re standing right next to me. I’m pretty sure someone was at some point.

Mostly it was this crazy weekend ping ponging between “that is so cool” and “I am in hell.”

Captain Carter (Kate) poses with the Team.
Captain Carter (Kate) poses with the Team.
The Mashable #MashBash (which was amazing, and also, Elijah Wood was the DJ)
The Mashable #MashBash (which was amazing, and also, Elijah Wood was the DJ)
So. Many. People.
So. Many. People.

You basically have to buckle down and decide to enjoy yourself, no matter what. If you’re in the right place at the right time for something cool, enjoy it. Make the most of it. But if you go in with an “I must see/get all the things” attitude… well, you’ll either be unsuccessful and surly, or successful and annoying. (In other words, do not get between a fan and his Comic Con Exclusive Collectible.)

Was it fun? Yes, because I was there with my friends, and there’s this in the trenches camaraderie that happens. Also, they tell me it’s like childbirth–after you recover, you only remember that it was worth it. I don’t have a kid, so I’ll have to take their word on that.

So, I have a question. If you could go to one panel to listen to the cast, crew, writer, or director of some book/show/movie… what would it be?  What would YOU camp out overnight to see?

2 thoughts on “It was the best of cons, it was the crowdedest of cons.”

  1. Cutting straight to the question…Steven Spielberg, Saving Private Ryan. The movie had underlying themes such as, The Flag and Captain Miller’s monologues and the deeper meaning behind them, that I’d love to discuss with him. I would wait in line just to find out if what I was thinking was what he was thinking when he developed those scenes.

    Like

  2. As for the “up nostril video”…”Bat in the cave” video or still photographs belong in Animal Planet documentaries. Good selfies are so much harder to produce than they appear too, right?

    Like

Comments are closed.