Stuff I like, Writing

5 Field Trips

Why five? Because I was going to post this on Friday, so it was supposed to be a “Five on Friday” kind of thing. Only I didn’t, and it’s Tuesday, and Two on Tuesday is too few (say that five times fast), and Ten on Tuesday is too many. So five it is.

#1. DFW WRITERS WORKSHOP BLOG

I have an article up on the DFW Writers Workshop Site (link: dfwwritersworkshop.org). I was really really stuck about what to write, so I wrote about what to do when you’re really stuck about what to write. Well, first I polled the workshop members who were still at IHOP when I got this brilliant idea of how to make other people do the work of my blog post for me. Anyway, go read it. There’s some good advice in there, and only a little bit of it was from me.

 

Perseids Meteor Shower Photo by David Kingham, used under CC license
Perseids Meteor Shower over Snowy Range in Wyoming ©️David Kingham — DavidKingham.com

#2. The Perseids meteor shower reaches it’s peak on August 12th. When I lived in the country, Mom, Dad, and I would lay outside (drenched in Backwoods Off, obviously) and watch them, far away from the light pollution of the city. We could see the Milky Way on a good night, too.

I’m not investment-level into stargazing, but rather one of those people who only gets into something when something cool happens. (Like the World Cup, or the Olympics.)

But my point is, I want to drive out of town to somewhere I can watch these as if I knew anything about them.

What I’d really like to do is rent a camper van, pack up the dog, and maybe the mom, and go find a campground. Provided the campground has electricity and a bathroom with showers and flushing toilets. I mean, let’s not get ridiculous.

That’s the way my family camped when I was a kid, and, I don’t know, it appeals to my inner hippie. As long as I get back to civilization now and then to get a flat white and a croissant.

#3. FenCon XIII — DFW (well, Irving) — September 23-25

This Science Fiction and Fantasy convention was where I made my debut as a professional writer type. I’ve missed a couple of years, but I’m really excited to be going back. And also… I might be debuting something new once again. #mysterious (fencon.org)

#4. SIRENS CONFERENCE

I never make a big enough deal about the Siren’s Conference, an annual symposium on women in fantasy and science fiction that has become one of the highlights of my year. Symposium sounds very hoity-toity, but imagine a small con (SFF con) full of people who you’d actually seek out in the bar, who don’t want to promote anything, they just want to sit around and talk about books, and maybe analyze how they fit into, reflect, or have the potential to change society. All the info is here: sirensconference.org. The site explains it better than I can. But anyway, I’m going to that.

#5. The movie theater

Star Trek Beyond

I already went to see this. You should go see this if 1) you like the original TV series but didn’t care for the first two NewTreks; 2) like science fiction with a heaping great wollop of really cool stuff. I think my friend Sally said it best: it doesn’t try to be anything but what it is, which is an adventure with a starship that goes where no one has gone before, gets the crap kicked out of them by something they’ve never seen, and then has to use their collective and individual skills to get themselves out of their jam. Oh, and save this incredibly cool space station in the process. Also? Cool, kickass girl alien, Kirk/Spock/Bones banter, and an overall message that there is strength in unity.

star-trek-beyond-trailer-2-still
Star Trek Beyond :: Yes, this is your mother’s Star Trek, which is why it’s so awesome.

 

And I am not at all influenced by the fact that Bones, my favorite character, got to actually do cool stuff in this movie.

Ghostbusters

Don’t listen to the haters. It’s not perfect, but it’s clever and entertaining. Which is exactly my feeling about the first one. The original now has the glow of nostalgia, but it was a ridiculous and fun movie. This one is the same. Incidentally, Melissa McCarthy and Kristen Wiig are kind of hit and miss with me, but I loved McCarthy and Wiig’s character was likable. Leslie Jones was awesome,  but Kate McKinnon stole the show as Holtzmann.

I don’t particularly care if we get a big screen sequel, but let’s talk about a reboot of The Real Ghostbusters animated series. Please?

ghostbusters