My Glamorous Life, Stuff I like, Uncategorized

Cereal and the Single Girl

Back when I used to care about things like social media metrics and such, some aggregator of, I don’t know, Twitter Divination, alerted me that “Your feed is influential on the topic of breakfast food.” Good to know, I guess, considering that I’m a Serious Author. (Though there is an IHOP product placement in Hell Week; can I monetize that somehow?)

I am no obsessed with breakfast food. I have a weekly meeting that convenes at the International House of Pancakes, which is sort of like the Rick’s Cafe of college students with exams and writers with plot problems. And you can’t mention IHOP without the stack of blueberry pancakes you’re about to eat.

Breakfast food is a staple in the single person’s diet. At the grocery store, it’s generally cheap, packaged in single servings, and designed to be made quickly and eaten with one hand, possibly standing over the sink, but I’m not judging. Even if I want to cook, scrambled eggs involve a frying pan, some pre-shredded cheese, or I might chop a tomato if I’m feeling fancy. I make up my own pancake mix so that I can make a short stack up quick, or there’s always Eggos and the toaster (not technically cooking, but then I do have to put the toppings on).

I was in the middle of writing this post when I got my “morning briefing” email from the New York Times, and lo and behold, there’s an article about “16 Delicious Reasons to Eat Cake for Breakfast.” 

Like I need a reason. Who doesn’t eat cake for breakfast?

This morning I grabbed an Einstien bagel from the freezer, let it thaw while I brewed my coffee, stuck it in the toaster and boom: breakfast done and exactly one knife to wash.

(Seriously. I need to look into this product placement thing. Call me, Einstien Bagels.)

So when I saw this article on Thrillist, I got so excited because OMG Lucky Charms has a limited instant oatmeal. (There’s a Cinnamon Toast Crunch one, too, if you like that sort of thing, but I can’t get past their commercials with the cannibalistic cereal pieces.) I’m not saying this is healthy. I know it’s like intravenous sugar, but sometimes you need that to get through a late night writing session. And Lucky Charms are magically delicious!

tl-horizontal_main

But tragedy! They’re only available in Canada for a limited time.

DAMMIT CANADA!

You get all the nice things.

trudeau.jpg

Feature image by Tella Chen via Flikr under CC license.

 

 

 

1 thought on “Cereal and the Single Girl”

Talk to me

