events, Lists, Real Life, The World Outside my Office.

Five Reasons to End a Social Media Sabbatical

“Sabbatical” sound so much better than “I just can Internet right now.”

There are plenty of articles about disconnecting or going on a social media diet. And really, does “Twitter and I are on a break right now” need elaboration in 2021? Probably not.

Ghosting on most of the Interwebs—well, okay, it was actually scarily easy to do, despite the benefits of (and enjoyment I get from) staying in the loop with readers and other writers.

This isn’t a post about why I (or anyone) should sip at the straw of social media rather than try and drink from the firehose.

This is a list of reasons why I’ve blown the dust off of readrosemary.net and written myself into a mixed metaphor.


Five Reasons to End a Social Media Sabbatical

  • I really need to write to someone other than myself. (See above. It’s like Inception up in here, you all.)
  • The first sense of fall in Texas is like the first hint of spring in places where it snows. I want fling wide the windows and clear out the closets and, I don’t know, bake things.

Maybe Pumpkin Spice things.

Pumpkin Spice Everything
Pumpkin Spice Everything

(But probably not.)

My point is…I want to DO things.

(Imagine if I lived somewhere temperate. I’d be unstoppable.)

  • I turned in a new manuscript.

It’s not just that I’m incredibly superstitious about talking about projects while I’m working on them. It’s that I can admit that I binge-watched both seasons of The Mandalorian (and had ice-cream delivered from the store) when I have, you know, things to do. (And a budget.)

  • I am actually… DOING STUFF. Stuff that you might like to know about because it’s online.

And they’re coming up, like, really soon.

October 1-2, 2021 — Roanoke Writers’ Conference (online).

Put on by the Roanoke Public Library, the RWC starts at 6pm on Friday with the keynote “Importance of Eggs Benedict to Your Career as an Author” with James A. Owen. (I don’t want to miss this.) Then all day Saturday there will be a full slate of workshop sessions with all kinds of writers.

I’m speaking in the afternoon, along with my friend and shenanigan-enabler, Rook Riley, in a session called “Beyond Book Bibles and Binders.” (Keeping track of the details in your writing projects, from research to writing.)

Tickets are $25 for adults and $10 for teens. For all the details on the event, how to attend online, and how to buy tickets, visit the Roanoke Public Library and the Event’s Website.

October 9, 2021 at 11am DFWWW Writers’s Bloc (online) — Finding the Core of your Story (aka “Rosemary’s Pitch Class”)

Hosted by DFW Writers’ Workshop. So, I teach this class on how to compose a pitch for your book (as in, pitching it to an agent or editor, or writing a query letter). And I’m pretty good at it, not because I’m an expert in marketing but because I love taking about stories and seeing what makes them tick. Like a mad scientist, kind of. Because, you know, you want your book to electrify people. (You thought I was going to say “come to life,” didn’t you? Psych!)

It’s really about finding the most compelling elements of your concept and using them effectively, whether it’s to write your book, revise it, or make someone say, “I want to read that now.”

So even though this class is extremely useful to anyone who is going to send out query letters, or say, have the chance to pitch their book at a conference like DFW Writers’ Conference (online, October 23-24, 2021), it’s really about finding the most compelling elements of your concept and using them effectively, whether it’s to write your book, revise it, or make someone say, “I want to read that now.”

The webinar is absolutely free and anyone can attend. You do need to register ahead of time so you’ll have the link and instructions to log in on Saturday, Oct 9th. You can do that by following this link. I’ll talk for about an hour and then take questions until we’re done or they mute me on the Zoom. 🙂

(The class will be recorded and DFWWW Members can view it anytime. Also, have I mentioned that DFW Writers’ Workshop is meeting online now and will likely have hybrid (online and in person) meetings when it’s safe to do so?)

  • There is no reason five.

This could have waited for a website redesign, or a rebranding, or a podcast launch. It was supposed to go up on the first Friday in September.

And I could have looked for some auspicious time, for the right moment, and for every line, metaphor, and image to be perfect.

In which case it might have taken me until NEXT September.

Fact: There’s never a right time for tackling anything–a goal, a project, a change. (And if a golden ticket arrives to say “now’s your chance!”, it certainly won’t be when you have ample time and energy.)

So, to recap:

  • Talking to yourself is fine, but talking to other people (from the comfort of your home, even) is better.
  • Fall is the best.
  • I haven’t forgotten how to write.
  • There are TWO chances to see my Lockdown Haircut (which is actually the same as my normal haircut) in the next two weeks:
    • The Roanoke Writers’ Conference (Online, Oct 1-2)
    • DFWWW’s Writers’ Bloc (Online, Sat, Oct 9 at 11am)
    • Plus…
    • The DFW Writers’ Conference is online, as well, and many awesome writers, agents, and editors will be speaking. It’s a chance go to a stellar conference without having to travel. (I won’t be there, though, because I will be at the Siren’s Conference in Denver!)
  • There’s never a perfect time to start something fresh, which means now’s the time to do it!

4 thoughts on “Five Reasons to End a Social Media Sabbatical”

  1. I’m so excited to see new content from you! I’m a librarian and I still constantly suggest your books. I talk you up all the time.

    Like

    1. Aw! Thank you so much! For talking me up, and for commenting. It feels good to focus on the “author” part of writing life.

      And librarians are lifesavers. ❤️❤️❤️

      Like

Comments are closed.